Weekly Feature

2017-12-07 / Local News

Three running for fire commissioner in Tuesday’s election


Voters in the Orchard Park Fire District will choose one of three firefighters to fill an open seat for fire commissioner during Tuesday’s fire district election.

The election will take place from 6 a.m. to 9 p.m. Tuesday, Dec. 12.

The three candidates are Dennis Pickard of the Hillcrest Fire Company, Marylyn Weichmann of the Windom Fire Company and Violet Newell of the Orchard Park Fire Company. The winner will serve a five-year term from Jan. 1, 2018, to Dec. 31, 2022.

There are no referendums on the ballot.

Residents in Districts

1, 2, 3, 4, 9, 12, 14, 18, 19, 20 and 21 will vote at the Orchard Park Central Fire Hall, 30 School St.

Districts 5, 6, 7, 13 and 16 will vote at the Hillcrest Fire Hall,

7115 Ellicott Road.

Districts 8, 10, 11, 15 and 17 will vote at the Windom Fire Hall, 3736 Abbott Road.

email: cgraham@beenews.com

Return to top